Paphos People

The Paphos and District Information Site

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:45 pm

The Paphos People Advert

All times are UTC + 2 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:03 pm 
Major

I have a car I would like to bring to Cyprus to use when I am there which is around 3 months of the year. I do not own a property but rent, not always in the same place. I have a friend who will look after it when I am not there. Is this possible as I am not a property owner?
Thanks
Chris

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:05 pm 

Yes it is ok to have a car registered to you even if you don't own a property but it has to be registered to your address here so, either you would have to changes address each time you move or register it at your friends address. We have always rented and have a car here but at the same address. We got advice from Neil at ANW Cars in Tremithousa and he helped us with the import.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 12:21 am 
Rock Star

We used ANW also - very happy with them.

You don't say what the car is - have you investigated costs??

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 3:09 am 
Graduate

Location: Shrewsbury Shropshire, but preparing for a new adventure
No need to be an owner.
I brought my car over in 2009 with Grimaldi, http://www.grimaldi.co.uk/AgencyUK/contactus.aspx I sailed with it. It takes around 2 weeks. Grimaldi will be your shipping agent from UK and can advise you on who to use this side. You will need an agent to sort out the paperwork when it arrives in Limassol as Customs will need to check it on arrival.

Quite a painless excerise.

If you want a nice leisurely break come over on the boat with the vehicle as it makes several stops on the way, Portugal, Italy, Greece, Turkey, Egypt and Israel.

If you are just letting it travel alone don't load it with your belongings as they may go missing. As I mentioned earlier I travelled with mine so that I could check that all was ok as I had quite a lot of gear stowed in it.